Holy Discontent

I’ve mostly thought of discontentment as being a negative thing. Contentment seems to be the more positively acclaimed option.

My perspective of this has been challenged. I’ve recently been finding myself discontent and I think it’s a good thing!

I could list several areas of discontentment that I’ve come to view as positive, but the one I’ll hit on here is a discontentment with cultural Christianity – the way so many, myself included, represent Jesus and his Kingdom

John 14:12 tells us whoever believes in Jesus will do greater things than He did. That’s a crazy statement! Jesus did wild things! He walked on water. He healed people from all kinds of sickness. He raised people from the dead. He commanded demons and they had to obey. He transcended the physical and lived in the spiritual. If I actually believe what the Bible says, I – and everyone who believes in Jesus – should be able to do those things. That’s amazing!! ….and nuts!!

Last night I went to church and it was pretty incredible. We – hundred s of people – ended worship on our faces, weeping and calling on God to bring awakening and revival.

We heard stories of healing…

A woman with a grapefruit-sized cyst that was about to rob her of her chance to have more kids was completely healed – no cyst, no issues, no surgery. She is now now 4 months pregnant.

Another woman had a heart attack and then scar tissue on her heart. She claimed and declared that God has a room full of hearts and can just give her a new on if He wants to. (On earth as it is in Heaven.. that’s how he taught us to pray!) Her next doctor visit showed no signs of ever having a heart attack and no scar tissue!

Another woman had a hip replacement causing one leg to be almost 2 inches shorter than the other. That had changed her life due to the pain of continued movement. She had a friend who prayed, commanding her shorter leg to grow and guess what, IT DID!! Her legs are now the same length. Her doctor didn’t know what to say!

Hearing these stories and later that night seeing a deaf man’s ear opened up so he was able to hear again reminded me of how much is available in God’s Kingdom! It also reminds me how little we tap into it, how little we actually know of the Father and His heart for people.

These things were normal for Jesus and should be for believers in Him as well! When there’s so many who claim His name, why don’t we hear more of these stories?

And that’s where I’m discontent in the best way.

I don’t want to live on yesterday’s stories. I want new ones. I want to live in the fullness of what’s available. This is Life in Christ. This is Freedom. This is the Gospel.

Published by Tammy Moye

I believe one of the most important things in life is the motive that drives you and I to do what we do.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started